Working in Retail

How to secure a job in retail [Retail Series]

The big question, “how did you secure a job in retail?”

In all honesty, it isn’t hard to get a job in retail the main requirements are

  • Basic conversational English
  • Experience where you developed skills that are used in retail
  • 2 References
  • The right to work in the UK

Other than that, that is all you need to secure a job in retail (it’s really not that hard).

Most retail jobs ask for a CV and Cover Letter, there are many websites and YouTube videos that can show you how to make a strong CV/Cover Letter. Just google it and you’ll find useful links.

Personally, I don’t think I would be able to hack working in clothing retail or fast food, so I decided to apply for a Supermarket role as a customer assistant. I applied to Tesco’s and I got rejected, but don’t lose heart after a rejection! I got an interview for Sainsbury’s but the hours were late shifts so I rejected to interview, there are many Supermarket jobs out there I google supermarkets and I would apply.

Generally, Supermarket assistants earn £7.80-£8.20 per hour. The pay is good for a simple job, but get ready for your back to be aching! And your feet to start hurting.

The online application is self-explanatory, generally there’s a quiz where you are given real life scenarios and you have to answer based upon if you were in that scene. My interview, was different I had to do a role play of a certain scenario and with things like that you just have to believe in yourself and go for it!

I would also recommend researching about the company, it makes you come across as smart 😉

What’s your tips for getting a job in retail or a job in general?? Leave a comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

